Social Media Education: Free Webinars and Canva

Social Media 101The more time I spend working on social media, the more obvious it becomes that I’m never going to declare, “I’ve done it. I’ve mastered social media.” The fact is, it’s constantly changing. You think you have a handle on Twitter; then they start allowing images to tweets and you need to respond. Maybe you think you’ve got a strong Facebook following only to learn you have a larger demographic on LinkedIn and need to adopt another platform. Do you ever feel like you can’t keep up? I think the secret of all social media marketers (or is it marketeers?) is that we all feel that way. But don’t worry, there’s hope!

Yes, there’s hope, and it’s in the form of free webinars. I frequently sign up for webinars and forget to join them (you can only do so much in the day!), but every so often I get around to watching one. Even though many of them shamelessly promote their products, there are usually nuggets of info that you can take away and apply to your work. Oh, and if you find there isn’t, close out that window and find something more productive to do! So where am I going with this?

Today I saw a tweet promoting “On Demand Webinar: The Art of the Perfect Social Media Post” from Hubspot featuring Guy Kawasaki and Peg Fitzpatrick. I had some time and thought, “Okay, I’m listening.” The webinar includes many good tips on increasing your reach and getting your posts noticed, but the product promotion is about a tool called Canva. It’s like an easy-peasy way to create images, but what caught my eye is that they have templates for blogs, Facebook, Google+, and lots of other things. I made the image in this very article with Canva, which does go to show that no tool replaces the eye of a good designer! Haha, but you get the idea. There are a ton of free images and layouts you can use — I can see this being useful in creating quick Twitter images, sprucing up social media profile pages, and that sort of thing. They also have images you can pay for at a buck apiece. Not bad! Anyway, if you don’t have a designer at your fingertips, I’d say this is probably worth looking into.

Long story short, it seems like every day I’m hearing about a new tool to measure this, improve that, etc., but it doesn’t hurt to give the stuff a try! You might be in for a pleasant surprise.

This post comes paired with Pizza Spaghetti Pie from PaleOMG. Yeah, it sounds like a carb-load, but it’s actually paleo, and super easy. A good one to make in advance and heat up during the week for those hectic evenings!

One comment

Leave a Reply

