Email Marketing Resources

It’s the email, the email, what what, the email. This never gets old.

My blogging companion and I are a bit pressed for time this week. She’s got a big 2-year birthday party coming up (decorations! cupcakes!), and I am attempting to study for a work exam (by watching Homestarrunner, obviously). But products must be marketed and posts must be written, so, I took the advice of a recent article I read on quick-and-easy blog topics and thought, “resource list! I can make that happen in 30…errr…60 minutes flat!”

I chose to concentrate on email marketing today because A) Strong Bad gave me the idea and B) there is no B.

People who don’t do email marketing think email marketing is easy, especially when they aren’t the ones hitting SEND to 20,000 people who could ruin your life (or at least your subscriber list) with a click of a “spam” button. It’s not magic; there is data behind why email marketers do what they do to get those open rates and click-thrus up.

Here are a couple great resources for information on best practices and tips about email marketing (in no particular order).

MailChimp – http://blog.mailchimp.com/

Why: Besides their frequent Star Wars references and the adorably accessorized monkey, MailChimp is the first email marketing platform I ever used (so I might be a bit biased) and wish I still used. They don’t overpost, so it’s not overwhelming to follow them. The writing style is simple to understand. The topics are comprised of a good mixture of MailChimp news, customer success, current events and their impact on email marketing, and tips and tricks. Here is an example of an important one on the Canada Anti-Spam legislation. And then there is a more fun one on the MailChimp QA team in which they use the tag “teamwork” – I love them for that! Hash-tag personality!

Litmus – https://litmus.com/blog/

Why? I love Litmus. I’m kinda obsessed with them. From their color selection and website design, to their event emails and their metrics dashboards, I love me some Litmus. I don’t even need to elaborate further. Just follow them and you’ll love them too. Trust me. I cannot tell a lie.

Some specific articles you should bookmark:

33 New Email Marketing Resources You Shouldn’t Miss
http://unbounce.com/email-marketing/33-new-email-marketing-resources/
(I know, I linked to another resource list. They are all just so good and I didn’t want to be a copycat! Thanks, Unbounce for the informative post.)

37 Tips for Writing Emails that Get Opened, Read, and Clicked
http://www.copyblogger.com/37-email-marketing-tips/

10 Email Best-Practices [Infographic]
http://www.marketingprofs.com/chirp/2014/24729/10-email-best-practices-infographic

9 Email Marketing Best Practices to Generate More Leads
http://blog.hubspot.com/blog/tabid/6307/bid/23965/9-Email-Marketing-Best-Practices-to-Generate-More-Leads.aspx

Perform a simple Google search and you’ll find email marketing sites aplenty, so I’ll continue to post more as I find myself returning to them over and over.

In memory of the late, great Robin Williams, “Thank you for choosing Magic Carpet for all your travel needs. Don’t stand until the rug has come to a complete stop. Thank you. Goodbye, now. Goodbye. Goodbye. Thank you. Goodbye.”

This post was paired with Grilled Scallops and Quinoa, from Giada’s “Feel Good Food” book. Yum!

 

Leave a Reply

