Social Media Success Summit 2014 – Day 2

Day 2 of the Social Media Success Summit is in the books. I have to say, for such brief sessions, they sure pack them with information! Here’s a run-down of what I was able to absorb.

Unlocking Your Perfect Social Media Strategy, Mark Schaefer

3 Takeaways from SMSS14 - Day 2Long story short — you need a social media strategy. And unlike traditional marketing strategies, social media strategies are alive and need to be adjusted as technologies and trends change. Mark went on to offer a 6-question methodology for creating your strategy. It’s all those important questions you need to ask yourself, for example: what do you have to offer that no one else does? Once you have that answered, you have something to work off of and you’re on your way to formulating a solid strategy! I will be setting time aside soon to go through all of the questions and create a strategy of my own. I can see myself putting it off as just keeping up with the day-to-day work can be challenging enough, but in the end it will definitely be worth it!

How to Build Powerful Relationships on Facebook and Beyond, Mari Smith

Mari’s focus was on Facebook, which for me is not a platform I use very often, but her session was very interesting. I was surprised to hear that only about 6% of your Facebook fans ever see your content. So if you’re not getting user interaction, such as likes and shares, on your posts there is even less of a chance of someone seeing the content. She offered many tips for increasing reach: post outside of business hours, mix up the frequency, and even try posting less — gasp!

How to Grow Your Blog’s Traffic and Revenue, Syed Balkhi

I’m going to be honest, my brain is still spinning from Syed’s session, and I mean that in a good way! He offered a ton of tips for optimizing blogs through online tools and WordPress plugins. What I found particularly insightful was his suggestion to re-use old content. He offered many ways this can be done:

  • Tweet old posts to maximize your potential reach and get new followers
  • Change content format on your blog — bring old articles to the front with “Tip of the Week” or “Popular Posts” sections
  • Turn your posts into a “round-up” to get more leverage from the content
  • Build an eBook from your posts and offer it as incentive to sign up for your email list

There was oh-so-much more, but you’ll just have to go track down the recordings to get the rest! And don’t forget to check out my summary of the Social Media Success Summit – Day 1 when you have a chance.

This post comes paired with octopus shaped hot dogs, cucumber salad, and homemade applesauce. Give me a break, I have a small child to entertain!

2 comments

Leave a Reply

