Social Media Success Summit 2014 – Week 2

Last week was a doozy! Being sequestered in training for 5 straight days meant that I had to use every free moment to catch up on the Social Media Success Summit sessions. I won’t waste any more time, let’s get down to business.

Day 1 – Google + with sessions by Martin Shervington, Lynette Young, Rebekah Radice, and Ryan Hanley

4 Takeaways from the Social Media Success Summit 2014 - Week 2Honestly, Google+ is not my favorite form of social media. I’m on it, but I sure don’t use it very much, and definitely not to it’s fullest potential. These sessions got me really thinking about how much more I should be doing, especially since Google+ posts have such SEO power. Of the many tips that were given, here’s what I took away to try to implement in the immediate future (baby steps):

  • Create circles and engage with them
  • Start a Community, and work intimately with them as they will be your advocates
  • Use hashtags
  • Add your own images/graphics (don’t settle for the defaults)
  • *Bold headlines* ← I had no idea it did this!
  • Post your events to Google+ → They can be inserted into Google Calendars which may increase attendance

Day 2 – Facebook with sessions by Amy Porterfield, Jon Loomer, and Andrea Vahl

Personally, I use Facebook to post pictures of my daughter and “like” pictures of my friends’ kids. I use it in a limited way for business since I work for a B2B software company and don’t have a personal “Facebooky” connection with my audience. That being said, there were tips in this session that will be valuable moving forward:

  • Make the posts about your audience, not you
  • Write in a conversational way, as if talking to a friend
  • Don’t use Facebook to sell stuff, use it to build a community and grow an email list; nurture the email list so that you have prospects that can become customers
  • Use Facebook Insights! Andrea Vahl provided a handy schedule to implement:
    • Daily → Look at your Engagement
    • Weekly → Look at Reach and Competitors
    • Monthly → Take a deep-dive into Likes, Like Sources, Post Types, and Negative Feedback

Day 3 – LinkedIn with sessions by Viveka Von Rosen, Stephanie Sammons, and Melonie Dodaro

I use LinkedIn heavily for work; I manage a group and company page. Where I really fall short is managing my own profile. I learned through these sessions that there is a ton that you can do to attract people to your profile page. I’ve always treated mine as a resume, only updating it when I get a new job. Here are the handy tips that rose to the top for me:

  • Unify your branding between your personal profile, group, and company page
  • Use keywords in your profile experience, summary, and interests to attract more visitors
  • Make your profile personal, don’t be afraid to share details to attract like-minded people
  • Be yourself
  • Engage strategically; it’s not about marketing, it’s about building influence
  • Ask for recommendations and reciprocate

Day 4 – Twitter with sessions by Erik Fisher, Amy Schmittauer, and Jessica Northey

Twitter is hands down my favorite form of social media, so I was very excited for Twitter-themed Thursday! Here are the takeaways I found most valuable:

  • If you’re having trouble creating new content, curate it.
    • Try a tool like Buffer. I just started Buffer, and I’m really enjoying it!
  • Enable Twitter Cards
    • Add a bit of code to your website, and you can tweet links containing rich media which saves more of those 140 characters for relevant text.
  • Build relationships by treating Twitter like a cocktail party; mingle, engage, be human, be giving
  • Share only content that you want to be known for
  • Quotes and resources are great things to share; large retweet factor
  • Never be boring!

Here’s to an awesome week two. Today’s sessions on blogging were incredibly insightful — look for a recap soon!

Leave a Reply

